RSS Feed

glutenvygirl On the Road: Branson’s Olive Garden

Recently, my family and I were on vacation at a lake in South Missouri. On the way home, we stopped in Branson for lunch. We chose the Olive Garden, knowing that we would likely find decent GF options there.

It was the best experience I’ve had at any Olive Garden, anywhere.

The person who seated us, Lisa I believe, quickly provided me with a gluten free menu when I requested it. Our server was Jacqueline, and she was incredibly talented at her job – not to mention very friendly and patient. She understood immediately what my needs and my son’s were. She carefully worked with us while choosing which meals and side dishes to select, making the large bowl of salad without croutons, and even to the point of, at the end of our meal, packing the gluten free items completely separate from the gluten-containing ones without me even having to ask for it (my husband cannot go to Olive Garden without consuming mounds gluteny pasta and breadsticks. It’s a proven fact). We were checked on often, and our drinks were refilled before we ever asked.

It was just a truly *nice* restaurant experience, and wonderful gluten free experience as well. My son had the gluten free pasta with red sauce. I had a steak grilled perfectly to medium, with grilled veggies.

I love it when a restaurant is aware, knowledgable, with a gluten free educated staff. Everyone in my family left very happy. When we return again to the area, we will definitely have to stop back by.

~glutenvygirl

Olive Garden on Urbanspoon

5 responses »

  1. Okay, so normally I would hurl dispersions at people who frequent chain restaurants, (and OLIVE GARDEN, of all places!), but…

    I would say I am glad you were able to be happily accommodated and served in regard to your GF requests. Bravo to OG for that.

    My bride keeps hounding me about going to the OG here near the house, but I just have such a hard time eating “Italian food” from a chain restaurant. *sigh* Of course I will take her, eventually. The things we guys do for love, I declare…

    πŸ™‚

    Reply
  2. I know I know…but we were wanting someplace that we hoped would be GF safe, in a town we were not familiar with It worked great! And the staff was awesome. With kids, you know that alone can be worth its weight in gold! πŸ˜‰
    The steak was good, and shouldn’t offend your Italian sensibilities *too* much! You crack me up. Take the girl! If it is good, you will both be happy. If it is not, then you will get to hear how great you are and how great your cooking is – you really cannot lose here! πŸ™‚

    Reply
  3. I have found that the “Olive Garden” is the best I have ever been to and I have been to a few. The food is served hot and is well seasoned, a true rare find now a day.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

