RSS Feed

Herbed buttery sliced potatoes and sunchokes

20120104-192000.jpg

I bought sunchokes recently. I’ve always wanted to try them. So I figured why not try something new.

I wasn’t really sure what to do with them at first. I tasted a small piece. It was interesting, but not crying out for a specific treatment. I looked up recipes, and nothing really appealed to me. I didn’t want to purée or mash them (I still have flashbacks from the Great Cauliflower Purée Disaster of ’08) and I didn’t want to serve them in large portion sizes, due to some of the horror stories I had read about the chokes producing copious amounts of intestinal gas. Living with all males, I knew that would’ve been miserable for me (even though they would’ve been greatly entertained…sigh). So. The texture appeared similar to jicama, but I didn’t want to cut them into matchsticks and top our salads with them, either.

After considering it for a bit, I decided to just come up with something. One of my family’s favorite side dishes is herbed potatoes, so I chose to combine the russet potatoes with the sunchokes and create the recipe as usual. I used dried herbs since I had them on hand. It was easy, and it introduced my family to a new item by blending it in with something familiar. It was delicious.

20120104-193231.jpg

20120104-193247.jpg

20120104-193316.jpg

20120104-193338.jpg

20120104-193408.jpg

20120104-193426.jpg

INGREDIENTS:
2 large russet potatoes
1 medium onion
1 lb sunchokes
2 cloves of garlic, minced
1 tablespoon dried dill
1 tablespoon dried rosemary
2 teaspoons pepper
1 teaspoon salt
1/4 cup butter, cut into pats

Preheat oven to 400. Using a mandoline, slice the potatoes, onion, and sunchokes. You did wash them first, right? 😉 Mix the potato, onion, and sunchoke slices in a large bowl. In a separate small bowl, combine the minced garlic with the dill, rosemary, pepper and salt. Then add the herbs to the large bowl and mix gently.
Empty contents of large bowl into a prepared casserole dish. Dot with butter.
Bake uncovered for 45 minutes. I stir it three times – once after 20 minutes, then at 35 minutes, and again before serving. Take caution to avoid breaking the slices.

Baked this way, my family loved them (without any noticeable side effects, to boot). Enjoy!

~glutenvygirl<3

12 responses »

  1. Never heard of a sunchoke before. I had this vision of a vegetable choking the sun. lol
    Looks delicious.

    Reply
  2. “I didn’t want to purée or mash them (I still have flashbacks from the Great Cauliflower Purée Disaster of ’08) and I didn’t want to serve them in large portion sizes, due to some of the horror stories I had read about the chokes producing copious amounts of intestinal gas. Living with all males, I knew that would’ve been miserable for me (even though they would’ve been greatly entertained…sigh).”

    LOL! I reverse-snorted Pepsi out of my nose at this one! Brilliant!

    Reply
    • lol….such is my life. I probably shoulda left those details out;) but oh well.
      Hope you are doing great!

      Reply
      • GG,

        I see your Urban Spoon ranking is getting better and better! When I first ‘met’ you, it was at 32. Now it’s at 16! Woo-hoo! Who’s that chick with the cool food blog? Why, it’s YOU!

        Brava! (What can I say? I’m happy to see you making an impact.)

        As to the rather, shall we say, revealing info about the male intestinal systems in your house, I myself refuse to ever, EVER again serve asparagus and/or broccoli to a pregnant woman. …just sayin’… I still wake up at night in a cold sweat over that whole experience…

        Reply
  3. it looks delicious!!!!!!

    Reply
  4. I’ve always wondered what to do with sunchokes. Did you peel them first? I couldn’t tell from the picture. Looks really good though and now I’ll be more likely to pick them up next time I see them! Do you do any gluten free baking? I have a friend who’s son can’t eat gluten and I’ve been researching sweets to make for him.

    Reply
    • Hello!
      I didn’t peel them…I scrubbed them and then ran them through my mandoline! They were great! They’re so little, I think they’d be a pain to peel…
      I do some baking GF, but I mostly stick to mixes and such right now. Easier for me:) but there are tons of websites with great recipes for GF baking! Check out some under my “Hops and Rolls” page!
      Thanks do much for the comment, and for stopping by!:)

      Reply
  5. Pingback: Venitian Shrimp and Scallops (Paleo-Gluten Free) | Joe's Primal Scream

  6. Pingback: Venetian Shrimp and Scallops-(Paleo and Gluten Free) | Joe's Primal Scream

Leave a Reply

