RSS Feed

Hosting a wedding without a hitch

Well. There actually was a hitch…but it was the happy kind.

20111213-135224.jpg

I’ve had my hands full lately! One of my husband’s employees was planning a wedding. He and his bride-to-be wanted a small personal ceremony. The date was set, rings and license purchased and all of that. Unfortunately, the wedding location fell through, and so I volunteered the use of our home. The wedding was in three days.

I mean…surely I could get it together over a weekend – what could possibly go wrong?;)

Due to my control freak tendencies, I made a master list of all I needed to have done and I actually got almost all of it finished. I also had fun doing it, I kid you not. I got it done! Including but not limited to, scrubbing the entire place ceiling to baseboards, redecorating, moving furniture, and creating an hors d’ouvres spread to feed 20+ people. There were a few hair-pulling moments (like when the fridge went kaput the morning of the wedding) but overall, it went great. I won’t bore you with the mundane tasks and details now; let’s get right down to the food.

My goal for the menu was to create a variety of foods that were delicious little bites, and quietly gluten-free. I wanted guests to look at the line of foods and see good food, not “gluten free” foods. From the raves and compliments, I am pretty confident that I succeeded.

I made:
•Meatballs with sauce
•Bacon-wrapped jalapeños with cream cheese filing
•Fresh guacamole with chips
•Garlic mashed potato stuffed mushrooms with parmigiano-reggiano cheese
•Pineapple chunks wrapped in bacon
•Petite crisp-rice circles

I also served spiced almonds and hard candies as well.

For the meatballs:
2 pounds hamburger
1 pound pork sausage
1 bunch curled parsley, leaves only, chopped
4 eggs
2 tsp salt
2 tsp pepper

Mix all ingredients together. Roll into small balls. You should get around 70 of them. Bake for twenty minutes at 375. Then, place meatballs into a slow cooker.

20111213-141404.jpg

Quick meatball sauce:
2 15oz cans of crushed tomatoes in purée
1 cup grape jelly
Mix and pour over meatballs in the slow cooker.

20111213-141512.jpg

At this point you can refrigerate them overnight if you want. To finish: turn the slow cooker on and keep them on low for 6-8 hours, throughout the party. The sauce will thicken slightly and soak into the meatballs. These disappeared quickly.

For the stuffed mushrooms:
1 tablespoon roasted garlic
2 tablespoons butter
4 potatoes, baked until skins are almost crispy
5 8oz packages of whole mushrooms, washed and stems removed
1/4 cup parmigiano-reggiano cheese, finely shredded
Salt
Pepper

20111213-141628.jpg

Warm butter and garlic in a saucepan over medium until butter melts. Open the potatoes and scrape the potato from the skins.

20111213-141809.jpg

20111213-141821.jpg

Mash completely, adding salt and pepper. Then stir in the parmigiano-reggiano cheese. Pipe the potato mixture into the mushrooms. Bake at 375 for about 30 minutes.

See photo at top of post for how they appeared going into the oven.

I apologize for the lack of photos of the other foods – they all looked perfect enough to photograph beautifully, too! Things just got so crazy that I completely forgot to take photos, until it was almost over. By then, most of the food had disappeared (which was a good sign, I think!). Plus, I was asked at the last minute to stand up with the couple, which was an honor I treasured – even though it caused all thoughts of my little food blog to fly out of my head.

The other items on my menu are, I believe, pretty self-explanatory. Except perhaps for the guacamole – but as penance I suppose that I will submit myself once again to the task of making some fresh guac soon (like I need an excuse), and I will take detailed pics of the process like I normally do. Deal?

It was a fantastic evening, and I was thrilled to see everyone enjoying the food I’d made. Which is kind of the point, yes?

All in all, the whole experience was unforgettable; I feel so privileged to have been a part of the beautiful beginnings of this couple’s life together.

18 responses »

  1. Sounds like it went beautifully!!!! I am SO proud of you/happy for you!!!

    Reply
  2. Well, who’s the brilliant little home-chef? YOU!

    Brava, signora! An effort done in love!

    Reply
    • Thank you! I enjoyed myself tremendously.

      Reply
    • Passionate, I saw on your blog you use Applegate farms bacon, because they use no nitrates or nitrites….may I suggest La Quercia bacon? Applegate uses celery extracts/vegetable substitutes for the same purpose as nitrates…La Quercia, uses only sea salt, fresh ground spices and nothing else. No nitrates, nitrites or vegetable substitutes….just something for you to ponder…..

      Reply
      • Kendra…I just got my La Quercia order today!!:) PC- I’ve heard tons of great stuff about it! Can’t wait to try it out

        Reply
      • Kendra,

        I’ve not seen that brand available locally. Could I find it at a Trader Joe’s or a Whole Foods? Or do I have to order it online? (I’ll research it….)

        I’m very curious to try it seeing how you recommend it and GG enjoys it. Thank you for reading my blog and for the heads-up about Applegate Farms!

        Reply
      • La Quercia is an Italian word, so I was intrigued.

        I just found a location nearby, (about 15 miles away), that has La Quercia meats! Woo-hoo!

        This weekend I will shoot over there and buy some stuff. I’m excited about their prosciutto.

        Grazie mille, Kendra!

        Reply
        • I have been talking to Kendra about these prosciutto cups I want to create – hopefully this weekend! I will post the recipe if I figure out something spectacular! PS Their tamworth bacon is, in my son’s words, “the bacon they must order in heaven.” lol. Mmmm

          Reply
      • Super!! I cant wait for the both of you to try it!!!

        Passionate, the bacon may be hard to find, depending on where you are at. Its a newer item for us. The prosciutto, speck and pancetta will probably be easier to find. If you cant find what you are looking for at your local store, you can always go to our website at http://www.laquercia.us to find what you want, or we also have plenty of different gift packages available on the Gilt Taste website also!!

        Enjoy!

        Reply
        • The bacon has disappeared already…ohmigosh I have never had such deliciousness. I LOVE the ingredient list! Pork, Sea Salt, Bay Leaf, Rosemary, Black and White Pepper. Seriously? Awesome.
          Looking forward to creating with the proscuitto this weekend!

          Reply
      • That is awesome!!!! I just knew you would like it!!! I cant wait to see what you do with the other meats!!

        Reply
  3. Grape jelly and meatballs? Really? What a wonderful blog, Bonnie. I’m eating it up.

    Reply
  4. LOL!!!! Too cute!!!! Can we maybe use your sons quote on our website or FB? Did you cook some up for him this am?

    Reply
  5. These look fantastic!! I just may have to try some of these recipes over the holiday 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

