RSS Feed

Cheesy Chicken Enchiladas

20111210-211031.jpg

My family loves these, and they’re relatively quick and easy to create. I use shortcuts – such as, I start with some already-cooked rotisserie chicken and my green chile sauce.

INGREDIENTS:
3 cups cooked chicken pieces
1 cup green chile sauce
8 white corn tortillas
1 cup pepper monterey jack cheese (or other cheese of your choice)
1 cup velveeta cheese, melted

DIRECTIONS:
Preheat your oven to 350. Start by spreading about 1/3 cup of the sauce into a prepared baking dish.

20111211-073123.jpg

Mix 1/2 cup of the sauce into the cooked chicken pieces.

Warm the corn tortillas by wrapping them in a damp paper towel and microwaving for a few seconds. They should roll much easier.

Top each tortilla with the chicken mixture and some cheese.

20111211-073854.jpg

Roll them and gently place them in the prepared dish. Follow with the other seven until you have all eight of them in the dish.

20111211-074004.jpg

Top with the remaining green chile sauce and cheese.

20111211-074036.jpg

Then, pour the melted velveeta over the enchiladas, covering all of the tortillas.
Bake at 350 for 20 minutes. Serve.

Note: My husband is a major Velveeta addict so that’s what I used – but it would be delicious with a blend of cheddar and jack cheeses as well, just add extra sauce to cover the tortillas.

8 responses »

  1. GG,

    Velveeta cheese? Ack! It’s not even real cheese my friend! It’s man-made in some freaky processed food laboratory! Ack!, again.

    Otherwise, I am totally digging this recipe. There is just something comforting about chicken smothered in cheese (real cheese!) and home-made green chile sauce. This would go so well with one of your GF beers!

    Reply
    • Lol. I know I know. I do! He adores it though. He was practically raised on the stuff… I’ve never quite understood the fascination; and we can get some amazing queso Mexican melting cheeses here too. But then, I don’t even like American cheese on a burger. He loves these things, so I happily make them – he usually humors me and all my food kitchen quirks and obsessions. 😉

      Reply
      • Hey, I see your UrbanSpoon ranking went from #36 to #35! Woo-hoo! (cue theme song from The Jeffersons: ‘And we’re moving on up…”)

        I would be all over queso fresco if I lived in Texas! But, I don’t. So, I’m not.

        Reply
        • I know! It keeps jumping all over. I’m pumped about it:)
          And right now, I’m loving queso blanco. Also, crema mexicana is a soft fresh cream-type, but it’s sweeter…almost like heavy whipping cream and cream cheese got together.

          Reply
  2. GG,

    Totally off-topic, but I wanted you to be the first to hear this:
    So I am playing in the kitchen and I loaded my food processor with garlic, gorgonzola, raw jalapeno, spanish green olives with pimento, olive oil, and black pepper. I chopped it into a paste, tasted it, and am in love with it. I’m using it on pork ribs tonight.

    Oh, and it’s gluten-free. 🙂

    Reply
  3. This looks absolutely delicious!! i cant wait to try it! definatley adding this to my next shopping list! thanks for the recipe!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

