RSS Feed

Green Chile Sauce

20111208-212454.jpg
Green chile sauce: one of the staples in my kitchen. Why? Because it is amazing. Why else? Added to enchiladas, slow-cooker stews, tacos, or breakfast casseroles, it ads a rich spicy tone that is only mildly fiery but still requests attention. It is also a key ingredient in my family’s favorite tortilla soup (I’ll try to post this recipe soon).

With just a few ingredients, it comes together easily.

20111208-212846.jpg
Ingredients: 2 roasted poblano chiles, 1 roasted garlic clove, 1/4 teaspoon black pepper, 1/4 teaspoon cumin, 1 cup chicken broth, 2 tablespoons grated onion.

By using one clove of roasted garlic and two roasted poblano peppers, the sauce is already off to a promising start.

By grating part of an onion into a bowl, I get the onion in tiny bits and I also get the nice eye-burning onion juice. Two tablespoons of this stuff does the trick.

Use a blender to coarsely chop the roasted peppers.

To a 2-qt saucepan, add the 2 tablespoons of grated onion and the roasted garlic clove.

20111208-214718.jpg
Over medium heat, stir constantly for a minute. Then, add the peppers.

20111208-214954.jpg
Stir thoroughly. Stir in 1/4 teaspoon of black pepper and 1/4 teaspoon of cumin. Allow to cook for another minute while stirring, then add in 1 cup of gluten-free chicken broth. I used Swanson’s, but homemade broth works great too…I’m just currently out. You could also try vegetable broth.

20111208-215406.jpg

I cool this until heated through, and then store in a container. You can freeze it or keep it in the fridge. It never lasts long around here. Also, if you don’t like the texture of the chiles, you can pulverize them in the blender and then strain the sauce before storing.

Go crazy with it. Add this sauce to anything your heart desires. Spice up a soup, top a burger, add to tamales, or serve with pork chops. Enjoy!

3 responses »

  1. GG,

    The poblanos are a nice touch. Very earthy without being firestorm hot. Roasting them brings them to the next level! Brava!

    I make a salsa verde using tomatillos as my base. I think I need a change of pace, so next time it is your little recipe I shall be stealing!

    Here’s a quick look into my personal recipe:
    Tomatoes, garlic, jalapenos, salt and black pepper to taste. The trick is to slightly boil all three main ingredients together and then toss them into a blender. Oh, and I serve my salsa room temp or warmed up. Never cold.

    Thanx for your recipe!

    Reply
    • Hmm I may have to try the tomatillos. They’re really easy to find, I’ve just never used them before – for anything. Ha! 🙂 I will have to try that!
      I love poblanos. Love.

      Reply
  2. Pingback: Cheesy Chicken Enchiladas « glutenvygirl

Leave a Reply

