RSS Feed

My First Gluten-Free Beer

20111203-160514.jpg
With all the football games today, I thought it would be a great time to test out the gluten-free beer that I’d picked up a few days ago. My first trial of a beer that is gluten-free! I’d purchased it at my first ever trip to a store called Whole Foods (which was so incredibly amazing that I can’t even wrap my head around it enough to blog about it yet).

So, back to today. I was excited to try it. I whipped up a big batch of spicy guacamole, hastily opened a bag or tortilla chips and tossed them over to my husband (upon reflection, I shouldn’t have done that), and grabbed a couple Redbridge’s from the fridge before parking on the couch in front of the game.

I had a lot a bit of trepidation – most some things I’ve tried lately that claimed to be gluten-free versions of their gluten-filled counterparts have been a disappointment in taste. Side note: Apparently my standards have been, basically, that they taste identical to my pre-GF foods. Oops. Anyways, this isn’t the case with the Redbridge beer. IT TASTES GOOD. I enjoyed it. I’m not a beer connoisseur by any means, or anything like that. I simply like an occasional beer. Particularly with my football.

As my first GF beer, ever, it definitely exceeded my expectations. It tastes… well… like beer. Which was precisely I was hoping for. I’m happy with it!

You can find info on it here.

My first gluten-free beer shall not be my last.

6 responses »

  1. There are many more gluten free beers for you to try. You can read many reviews on the Gluten Free Beer Association website.

    Reply
  2. Reblogged this on Inspiredweightloss.

    Reply
  3. geg,

    You lush, you! 🙂 LOL!

    I cannot drink beer as it gives me a headache after two or three sips. (an allergic reaction, maybe?) However, I appreciate any reviews of products from real people to file away in my mental filing cabinet for a possible future use.

    I take it it went well with the chips and guacamole. Do you have any recommendations as to what you might also pair it with?

    Reply
  4. Pingback: My Gluten-Free Progress Report: Month 1 | glutenvygirl

Leave a Reply

